COI Tracking Software Pricing in 2026: Who Publishes
The CertifiKit team
Certificate-of-insurance desk
Published self-service COI tracking prices run roughly $6 to $12 per vendor per year; full-service runs $13 to $30. But the number that actually decides whether a platform is available to you is the annual minimum — and minimums of $7,500 to $10,000 are common enough to disqualify most small teams before per-vendor pricing matters at all.
This page collects what each vendor publishes, states plainly where a figure comes from a third party rather than the vendor, and gives every claim a date. The category changes fast; a rebrand happened in the middle of writing this.
Cost of a COI vs. cost of tracking software
If you mean the cost of obtaining a certificate of insurance, the certificate is typically issued at no extra charge for an existing policy. That is separate from the insurance premium and any coverage changes. Travelers explains this distinction; ask your producer about your specific request.
This page compares the separate cost of software that collects and tracks vendors' certificates. For the document itself, start with what a COI is and how to request one.
The short version
| Platform | Published price? | Self-service | Annual minimum |
|---|---|---|---|
| bcs | Yes | Free up to 25 vendors, then $0.95/vendor/mo | None on free/self-service |
| CertFocus (Vertikal RMS) | Yes | $6–$8/vendor/yr | $7,500 |
| illumend (formerly myCOI) | No | Demo only | Not disclosed |
| TrustLayer | Free Starter published; paid quote | Free up to 50 vendors | Confirm paid terms |
| Jones | No | Demo only | Not disclosed |
| SmartCompliance | No | Demo only | Not disclosed |
| CertifiKit | Yes | Free instant checker | None |
TrustLayer checked September 13, 2026. Other figures retain their August 8 verification date; confirm current terms before budgeting.
What the vendors publish themselves
bcs — fully published, including a free tier
bcs is the most transparent pricing in the category as of August 2026:
- Free: up to 25 vendors, permanent (explicitly "not a trial"), no credit card. Includes AI extraction, automated requests, deficiency notices, and unlimited storage.
- Self-service: $0.95 per vendor, monthly, volume-dependent. Unlimited users, integrations, technical support.
- Full-service: $17.80 per vendor annually, with a $10,000 annual minimum, adding a dedicated account manager and compliance analysts.
Source: getbcs.com/pricing-and-plans, checked 8 August 2026.
CertFocus by Vertikal RMS — published, with a real floor
- Self-service: $6–$8 per vendor per year, unlimited users, with a $7,500 annual minimum.
- Full-service: $13–$29 per vendor location per year, $10,000 annual minimum.
The per-vendor rate is genuinely low. The minimum is what matters: at 50 vendors, $7,500 works out to $150 per vendor per year — roughly twenty times the headline rate. Minimums invert the economics at small scale, which is why comparing per-vendor prices alone is misleading.
Source: vertikalrms.com pricing guide, checked 8 August 2026.
What the demo-only vendors cost
The August review did not find public paid rates for illumend (formerly myCOI), Jones, or SmartCompliance. TrustLayer now publishes a free Starter plan; its plans page does not list paid rates.
Directly verifiable, from their own sites on 8 August 2026:
- illumend: primary CTA is "Schedule Demo." myCOI rebranded to illumend;
mycoitracking.com/pricingnow redirects toillumend.ai. - TrustLayer: Starter is free for up to 50 vendors. Confirm paid features and quotes directly. Checked September 13, 2026.
Third-party comparison sites publish estimates for these platforms:
| Platform | Third-party estimate | Source type |
|---|---|---|
| illumend / myCOI | $30–$60/vendor/yr, 200-certificate minimum | Competitor comparison pages |
| SmartCompliance | $40–$80/vendor/yr | Competitor comparison pages |
| C2COI | $15–$40/vendor/yr | Competitor comparison pages |
| Jones | Square-footage or project-based | Competitor comparison pages |
Treat every figure in that table as unconfirmed. These come from pages published by competing vendors, who have an obvious interest in how their rivals' prices look. We include them because they're the only public numbers that exist, not because they're authoritative. Neither illumend, TrustLayer, Jones, nor SmartCompliance has confirmed them.
Estimates as published by third-party comparison sites, August 2026.
Why so many vendors hide pricing
Three reasons, none of them sinister:
- Genuine variability. Full-service pricing depends on how many certificates need human review, which varies enormously by industry and requirement complexity.
- Sales-led go-to-market. These are enterprise products sold by account executives on annual contracts. Publishing a price shortens the sales conversation they're built around.
- Price discrimination. Custom pricing lets a vendor charge a national REIT more than a regional GC for identical software.
The practical consequence for a small buyer: you will spend an hour on a demo to learn a number that disqualifies you. Ask for the annual minimum by email first.
The questions that actually determine your bill
Per-vendor price is rarely the whole invoice. Ask each vendor:
- What is the annual minimum? The single highest-leverage question. It disqualifies most enterprise platforms for small teams in one line.
- What counts as a "vendor"? Per vendor, per location, or per certificate? A vendor with four locations can bill as four.
- Are users included? Some publish unlimited users; others charge per seat.
- What's the contract term? Annual is standard; monthly is rare.
- Is document review included or extra? This is the self-service vs. full-service line, and it's usually a 2–3× difference.
- What happens when you exceed the tier? Overage rates are often unpublished.
- Is there an implementation fee? Enterprise onboarding sometimes carries a one-off charge.
What this costs versus doing nothing
The honest comparison isn't software against zero — it's software against your own time. bcs's own published comparison puts manual tracking of 200 vendors at $27,300–$36,400 per year in labor. That figure comes from a vendor selling the alternative, so discount it accordingly, but the direction is right: at 200 vendors, manual chasing is a part-time job.
At 25 vendors it is not. Which is exactly why free tiers and spreadsheets remain reasonable answers at the bottom of the market — see when the spreadsheet stops paying off.
How CertifiKit prices
CertifiKit's instant checker is free — upload a certificate, get a plain-English compliance verdict with per-field evidence, no account and no sales call.
The tracking product is live and priced publicly on the pricing page rather than behind a demo. Your first 5 vendors are free — no card, no sales call.
We'll keep this page current as vendors change pricing. If you spot a figure that's gone stale, tell us — the date on every claim above is there so you can check.